AD12 atT42

I was excited when a friend invited me to join them to dine at AD12 located in Tower 42. This is a 12-week pop up restaurant with starred chef Anthony Demetre, the team behind Arbutus and Wild Honey.

ADatT42

To get to the restaurant I had to obtain a card which are coloured coded that tells you which lift you need to take. I have to admit I got lost when arriving on the designated floor, because all I could see was the sign for the toilet. But it was these doors where AD12 was hiding.

ADatT42

The menu served was desgined to be a Celebration of Autumn. There was the choice of 3 courses (£49), 4 courses (£55) or 5 courses (£60). We all went for the 4 courses and skipped the French & English seasonal cheese.

ADatT42

For our first course, we all began with the Scottish scallops, simply roasted and flourless gnocchi, smoked eel bouillon. The scallop was beautiful cooked with good combination of flavours.

ADatT42

The second course most of us decided to go for the very tempting Squid and Mackerel ‘burger’, Cornish razor clams, sweet spice.

ADatT42

I was tempted to go for the razor clams but decided to try the Slow poached egg, warm potato velouté, pink grapefruit relish, buckwheat. This was an interested dish, which reminded me of the Japanese steamed egg.

ADatT42

The third course I ordered the Wild halibut, butternut squash, girolles, shrimps and red quinoa salad, salted butter. A nicely cooked piece of halibut that required the other ingredients on the plate to give the fish flavour. I was interested to order this dish because the use of quinoa in the dish, which seem to become a popular ingredient appearing in dishes.

ADatT42

There were other choices with some friend selected instead included the Grilled piece of beef, autumn vegetables, horseradish, bone marrow.

ADatT42

Every dishes was beautifully presented but the favourite one was the Rabbit saddle and shoulder ‘Cottage pie’, carrots, curly kale. I love the whole carrot which we would link to rabbits favourite food.

ADatT42

The fourth course, we each called a different dessert so we could try all the selection on the menu. I choice the Warm chocolate soup, barley milk ice cream. I was expecting a bowl of chocolate sauce in a soup bowl, but instead it was a warm and soft chocolate cake in a bowl. The texture and the flavour was like a chocolate fondant cake.

ADatT42

Lemon parfait, fennel confit, barberries was a refreshing dessert. But I found this dessert too sour from the berries.

ADatT42

Classic English custard tart, golden sultanas, cob nuts was a milky tart more than a custard flavoured tart.

ADatT42

To go with the meal, I ordered a refreshing cocktail, but I did not find the cocktail as well mix to other places that I have tried.

ADatT42

We finished our meal with complimentary sweets from the chef.

ADatT42

As well as visting AD12 for the food, the highlight is also to enjoy the view of Tower 42. However, the view at Heron Tower or The Shard was much better.

ADatT42

Overall, the food was okay but I would not say it had that wow factor. So I did felt the four courses was expensive. However, it was a nice experience to have the opportunity to visit Tower 42.

AD12 atT42
Tower 42,
Level 24,
25 Old Broad Street,
London,
EC2N 1HQ,
UK

http://ad12.co.uk

Leave a Reply

