Via Condotti

As it is London restaurants Festival (4th – 18th October 2010) there are many restaurants offering a festive menu at a reasonable price. So I wanted to take this opportunity to dine at a restaurant that I probably would not look to book or is out of my price range. There were many celebrity restaurants which I would have loved to try but places like Gordan Ramsey were fully booked or just not at a time I was free.

Whether it is places opened by celebrities or not, London has many restaurants that offers good food. So out of all the choices I went for Via Condotti that was offering a 3 course London restaurant festival menu for £28.50 or 2 course for £24.50. I would say that it was a much better deal than going for the meal deal that I saw on their website menu which was for 3 course for £27.00, as depending what you order they might be the additional supplement charges.

Th restaurant is situated in the heart of London’s shopping district which best remember for being almost Vivienne Westwood shop. Having walked along this street I have not even noticed Via Condotti but then I would have been more interested doing my window shopping. Outside the restaurants is this baby pink which has that local neighbourhood feel to it. Inside has this grand feel with the leather seating and bright lighting that contrast well with the neutral colours. Each tables are covered with a bright white cloth and laid out with cutlery and glasses.

When we arrived it was quite a worry when I was told they did not have my booking that I made through TopTable. It is not the first time that I have had this problem when booking through TopTable that it has been confirmed but when I arrive to the restaurant I was told they do not have my booking. fortunately, the restaurants still was able to give us a seat and serve us the London restaurants Festival menu.

The London restaurants festival menu consist of the following choices:

Course 1

  • Capesante avvolte in Pancetta con insalata di finocchi infusi allo zafferano (pan-fried scallops wrapped in Pancetta with fennel salad infused in saffron)
  • Carpaccio di manzo con funghi freschi e olio al tartufo (beef carpaccio with fresh mushrooms and truffle oil)
  • Burrata con melanzane alla griglia e olio al basilico (burrata cheese with grilled aubergines and basil oil)

Course 2

  • Filetto di manzo ripieno di Scamorza, spinaci saltati e salsa al Marsala (pan-fried filet of beef, filled with smoked mozzarella, sautéed spinach and marsala sauce)
  • Filetto di branzino selvatico alla griglia con purea di patate e vongole (chargrilled wild sea bass with mash potatoes and sautéed clams)
  • Tagliatelle ai funghi misti di stagione (tagliatelle with mixed wild mushrooms)

Course 3

  • “ Tiramisu’ ”
  • Pannacotta alla vaniglia con frutti di bosco (vanilla panna cotta with mixed wild berries)
  • Selezione di formaggi tipici Italiani (selection of Italian cheese~)

After looking at it we decided that we would go for 3 courses and try out what Via Condotti had to offer from starters, mains and desserts.

While waiting for our first course we were served a plate of bread selection that we could dip in olive oil. 

Course 1 – We both choice the Capesante avvolte in Pancetta con insalata di finocchi infusi allo zafferano (pan-fried scallops wrapped in Pancetta with fennel salad infused in saffron). The scallops were beautifully cooked so it was not over-cooked or under-cooked. We still have not yet figured out the vegetable that the scallops was sitting on. It was like preserved pickled vegetable but then it did not taste like one. My only guess was that it could be celery and that it went well with the scallops.

Course 2 – I went for Filetto di manzo ripieno di Scamorza, spinaci saltati e salsa al Marsala (pan-fried filet of beef, filled with smoked mozzarella, sautéed spinach and marsala sauce). It was a thick piece of beef, so although it look small I was full with it (although I have to admit I can be a small eater). The mozzarella went well with the beef and like how it had that smokey taste to it. Although, I found this dish was lacking flavour and the marsala sauce I felt did not bring much flavour to it.

In contrast to my brother’s main dish the Filetto di branzino selvatico alla griglia con purea di patate e vongole (chargrilled wild sea bass with mash potatoes and sautéed clams), was fulled of flavour. He actually found it bit to saltey. This was full of flavour of garlic and one of my favourite ingredient to have in a dish.

Course 3 – I choice the Pannacotta alla vaniglia con frutti di bosco (vanilla panna cotta with mixed wild berries). A creamy texture panna cotta that was full of flavour and went well with the mixed wild berries sauce.

For my brother he went for the “ Tiramisu ” which was a tasty and I like it that it a light version. Since I found that many restaurant serve a Tiramisu that is too heavy.

We also go these little additional that we believe was served with the tea (Breakfast Tea – £2.00) that we also ordered to go with the desserts.

Overall, a beautiful classy meal with excellent service. From the time we stepped in to the restaurant and until we left we were provided with smiling service. The meal was OK with the London restaurants festivals menu offer we had. In total for two people with a bottle of still water (£3.50) and an additional tea it came to a total of £71.31. There was a 12.50% service charge included to the bill but worth it for the service we got.

Via Condotti
23 Conduit Street
London, W1S 2ZS

http://www.viacondotti.co.uk

Leave a Reply

