Petite Blueberry Muffins

I am not a fruit lover but blueberry muffins will always have a place in me. It would have never crossed my mind to be making them myself, but when I saw how simple the recipe I thought one day I would try making them. Yes one day and after months I have only decided to try making it. Well Sainsbury had blueberry on discount so I thought why not, as I paid around £2 for one muffin at a shop the other day.

Within an hour you can have some blueberry muffins and I really do mean it take no more an hour to make them and get them in to the oven. As I made them very late in one evening knowing I only had a one hour limit to get these muffins done and be off to bed for work.

The original recipe asked for 200g of blueberries which to me is awfully a lot. But you can adjust it depending how much blueberries you like in your cake. The same with the sugar and butter, it can be adjusted depending on your taste – so experiment!

I have only made adjustment to the blueberries and keeping the sugar and butter the same which I thought tasted okay to me. But some who perfer it a bit sweeter will want to add more sugar. Well I do not have that much of a sweet tooth and it is all much healthier with less sugar and butter!

Maybe you can give the recipe a try and then let me know what you think!

My next batch I will try adding just a few more sugar to see what experience that gives me.

Blueberry Muffin

Ingredients:

  • 100g  Self-rising flour
  • 50g Caster Sugar (amount can be reduce or increase to your taste)
  • 80g Butter (amount can be reduce or increase to your taste)
  • 2 Egg
  • 200g Blueberries

 Method:

  1. Whisk the butter and sugar together, until creamy.
  2. Add the egg one by one.
  3. Add the sieved flour and mix.
  4. Add in the blueberries (leaving some to be used later for decoration), and fold it in to the mixture.
  5. Then pour the mixture into a muffin tin (I used silicone cupcakes cases instead).
  6. Then with the blueberries that were left aside you can add some on top.
  7. In a pre-heated oven bake the muffins in 200 degree Celsius for around 20-30 minutes.
  8. Let it cool before dusting the muffins with some icing sugar (This is optional, but I think it add an extra touch to the muffins).

Blueberry Muffin

Leave a Reply

