(Red) Velvet CupCakes

I have been wanting to try out making red velvet cakes and thought I try out this recipe I found. It was different because the many recipe I have seen would include vinegar and this one did not. I am not sure whether it was because it had no vinegar or it was my lack of cake experience that I would not use this recipe ever again. I found the taste of the cake quite odd but the more I am thinking could it be the coco powder I used?

They did not have much taste or even sweet. But I assume because you are suppose to put the frosting that you do not want the cake itself to be too sweet.

I did make the frosting and had some fun with some icing pen I brough but never got to use them. So here is some of my creation.

Red velvet cupcakeCupcakes

I will post the recipe up, although I did not favour it. But it could be my taste buds or something I did not quite get right in this recipe. Let me know if you try and think it was OK. Let me know in anything I might of miss.

Red Velvet Cake

Ingredients:

  • 126g unsalted butter, softened
  • 165g caster sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extra
  • 2 eggs
  • 185g plain flour, sifted
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 25g cocoa powder, sifted
  • 125ml butter milk
  • 2 teaspoons red food colouring

Method:

  1. Mix the unsalted butter & caster sugar well until light, fluffy and creamy. Then add in the vanilla extract and mix well.
  2. Add in the eggs one at a time and mix well.
  3. Sift all the powder (flour, baking powder and cocoa powder) together and mix till just combined.
  4. Add the butter milk.
  5. Add the colouring (I did not add any!)
  6. Pour mixture into the muffin cases and bake for 18-20 minutes at 160 celsius degree. But it depends on your oven and cupcake sizes.

Cream cheese frosting

Ingredients:

  • 250g cream cheese
  • 50g butter, softened
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 80g icing sugar 

Method:

  1. Mix the butter until soften and add in the cheesecake. Mix further until light and fluffy.
  2. Add in the vanilla extract and icing sugar. Mixed until combined and glossy.
  3. Using a palette knife and smooth it on to the cupcake.
Leave a Reply

