The Hummingbird Bakery

My first discovery of something called red velvet cakes was when a friend bought a box of cupcakes from Hummingbird bakery. There was vanilla, chocolate flavoured cupcakes, but I fell in love with the red velvet cakes. It tasted like chocolate cake (but a much lighter chocolate flavour) and the cake itself was red. The first thing I thought when I saw it was, this make a great base for a wedding cake!

Well I did go in to searching for recipes of red velvet cake and now understand why it taste a bit like chocolate cakes, because it has coco powder. It is red because of colouring that is added to it. After reading the ingredient it did put me off a little. But not in a way that I did not want to have any Velvet cakes anymore.

Hummingbird bakery’s cupcakes are beautifully decorated, but as with many cupcakes. The most beautiful decorated has to be when I got a box of cupcakes on Valentines day. For the special day, they had decorated each cupcakes with a heart.
Hummingbird bakery Valentine day cup cake

As with all cupcakes I am never a fan of the icing that goes on top of the cupcake. But without it then it is not a cupcake in my opinion.

I think out of the cupcakes I have tried, Hummingbird bakery’s red velvert cake taste is the nicer.
Hummingbird bakery Red Velvet cupcake

The Hummingbird Bakery

Old Brompton Road branch:
47 Old Brompton Road,
South Kensington,
London,
SW7 3JP

Portobello Road:
133 Portobello Rpad,
Notting Hill,
London,
W11 2DY

http://www.hummingbirdbakery.com/

One thought on “The Hummingbird Bakery

  1. Pingback: Arang « CheChe’s Blog

Leave a Reply

